Do you sit or stand?

A new trend in the office space is standing at your desk.  A coworker of mine has been using a standing desk for over a year now, and he really loves it.  So, I decided to give it a try.

I started by taking a table and setting it up on concrete blocks.  I figured I needed to see if I liked it before investing in anything.  So, for less than 5 dollars, I converted to a standing desk.  60 days later, I am still really enjoying it.  It took some getting used to, but in the end, I feel like I am better off standing most of the day, and taking periodic breaks in a chair.

What I have found in my research and experience is that to make this work you need to keep a few things in mind:

  • Your desk height should be just under your elbows, so that when you are typing your hands are slightly lower than your elbows.  If you’re too high, it just isn’t ergonomic or comfortable
  • Have a foot stool or box to step one leg on while your standing.It takes some pressure off your lower back.  Alternate between left and right foot.
  • Get a comfortable bar stool to sit on at your desk.  Sometimes, you will just want to sit and work. Of course, you could get a fancy convertible desk that can convert from sitting to standing, but they will run you close to $1000.
  • Try a cheap solution first to  see if you like it.  When you are ready to commit, then go for a more permanent solution.  See the picture below for the desk I built from IKEA parts. My cost was about $80 (because I already had the bookcase, so add $60 if you need it too).
Standing desk made from IKEA parts
Standing desk made from IKEA parts

Do you stand at work?  How long have you been doing it?  What are your experiences with it?

One thought on “Do you sit or stand?”

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I have been wanting to try this. I cannot do it yet, but you gave me some great tips to get it set up as soon as I am ready.

Leave a Reply

